2011–Bread Giving in Review

In January:

I baked 31 loaves of bread, giving away 17 of those 31.

I made sweet bread, French bread, sourdough, no-knead, oat cakes, granola, rosemary rolls and pumpkin bread.

Summary: Loved my oven that month.

  

In February:

I baked 22 loaves of bread, giving away 12 of those 22.

I made French bread, Italian mountain bread, no-knead, molasses bread, rosemary rolls, ugly bread (that’s what my notes said), pumpkin bread and Saint Brigid crosses on February 1st.

Summary: Love Saint Brigid!

  

In March:

I baked 18 loaves of bread, giving away 8 of those 18 (plus, gave away 10 loaves of bread that my brother lovingly bestowed on me).

I made rye crackers, banana bread, French bread, whole food bread, cheesy no-knead, chocolate shortbread, and lots of molasses bread (our lenten fave).

Summary: Was I beginning to get stingy with my time and my bread? Just sayin’…

  

In April:

I baked 29 loaves of bread, giving away 21 of those 29.

I made prosphora, French bread, molasses bread, no-knead (some with cheese), cookies, scones, cinnamon rolls, corn muffins, lenten chocolate cupcakes, rosemary rolls and pumpkin bread.

Summary: I was busy! The beauty of Pascha puts one in a very giving mood!

  

In May:

I baked 31 loaves of bread (just like January!), giving away 16 of those 31.

I made French bread, sourdough, no-knead (some with cheese, some with rosemary), scones, Dutch crunch, molasses bread, lenten chocolate cupcakes, prosphora, rosemary rolls and cinnamon rolls.

Summary: I love May… (and I love Dutch crunch–really need to make that again…)

  

In June:

I baked 11 loaves of bread, giving away 6 of those 11.

I made biscotti, French bread, sourdough, no-knead with cheese, chocolate chip cookies, rosemary rolls and pumpkin bread.

Summary: Hmmm. Not much playing with dough that month… It was summer, after all.

  

In July:

I baked 18 loaves of bread, giving away 11 of those 18.

I made prosphora, buttermilk biscuits, rye bread, no-knead, French bread, and rosemary rolls.

Summary: We were mostly on vacation, and the prosphora counted for six loaves! I really wasn’t all that much of a baker’s daughter in July.

  

In August:

I baked 13 loaves of bread, giving away 5 of those 13.

I made molasses bread, French bread, cheese no-knead, croutons, sourdough with cheese, lenten chocolate cupcakes, rosemary rolls and icky rye.

Summary: Cheese month! I’m still mourning over the icky rye.

  

In September:

I baked 15 loaves of bread, giving away 6 of those 15.

I made molasses bread, rye crackers, chocolate lenten cupcakes, oreganato, sourdough, and rosemary rolls.

Summary: I really should make rye crackers more often.

   

In October:

I baked 20 loaves of bread, giving away 11 of those 20.

I made country crumb, no-knead, chocolate chip cookies, molasses cookies, muffins, lemon cakes, French bread with cheese, persimmon cookies and rosemary rolls.

Summary: This was the beginning of a hard time for me, but baking helped me keep my sanity.

  

In November:

I baked 10 loaves of bread, giving away 3 of those 10.

I made pumpkin bread, rosemary rolls, struan and no-knead.

Summary: It was only with God’s help that I baked this month at all. Those three loaves I gave away were important moments of healing.

In December:

I baked 22 loaves of bread, giving away 12 of those 22.

I made struan, rosemary rolls, French bread, cinnamon rolls, and scones.

Summary: My strength returned and I was back in the baking saddle, visiting baby after baby, basking in the coming of Christmas.

  

So… that’s 240 loaves baked, and 128 given away. I am typically not a numbers person, but looking at this summary is encouraging to me: To look at a year in review and see many moments of giving–more moments than I would typically make in my every day life if I hadn’t launched this “experiment.” There is still so much room for growth–in the way I spend my time in the kitchen, in the way I give and reach out to those around me. But that’s what the new year is for, isn’t it?

I’d love to hear your thoughts…

What are your plans for the new year?

5 thoughts on “2011–Bread Giving in Review

  1. We have “adopted” a friend. He is the brother of an Orthodox friend in OR, and he moved to FL for a job. When he first moved here, she told us about him, and we took him a little welcome basket. He had been active in the military not long ago, and seemed a bit lonely so far from home. He works a lot so it is difficult to get together with him. Our friend had told us he mostly ate out or ate frozen, pre-packaged stuff and really missed home-cooking. I was inspired by your blog and thought this was a good opportunity to introduce my children to giving. So this past July, the kids and I baked some cookies- sugar with a little blue food coloring and red & white mint chips- and left them in a gift bag on his door knob with an anonymous note. Every few weeks, the “faeries” leave a bag of goodies on his doorknob with a rhyme or riddle giving a clue to what is inside. It has been a lot of fun for the kids, and we hope that it brings a smile knowing that someone is thinking of him.

Leave a Reply

