Children’s Books for Budding Bakers

Been bakin’

Been readin’, too

This book put a smile on my face last week when the wind was making all of us wacky and grumpy and altogether very weird. I found it in the new book stack at the library, where I take my four year old each Tuesday. Easy as Pie by Cary Best, illustrated by Melissa Sweet, is a newish release about a little baker in the making. His name is Jacob and he makes a peach pie while you’re reading the story. Really! He even makes the pie crust from scratch. And he’s a happy little tot. His enthusiasm is contagious, and, wow, this book would make a great pairing as a birthday gift wrapped alongside an Easy Bake Oven!

And Easy as Pie reminds me of another favorite, favorite that has to do with baking. How to Make an Apple Pie and See the World by Marjorie Priceman is one of my all time super picks! I’ve purchased many copies of that book for adventurous munchkins.

Priceman zooms you around the world to pick up the ingredients she needs in order to make the apple pie. In fact, one of my favorite and quite handy facts from that book is that cinnamon comes from the Sri Lankin “native kurundu tree”. Good to know stuff! Oh, and the little girl makes her own sea salt. Maybe that’s where I first got the idea.

What about you, do you have favorite books on baking for kids? I’d love to know about them if you do…

2 thoughts on “Children’s Books for Budding Bakers

    • Phyllis–Ooh, I love the look of that DK book on baking for kids. I’ll have to search that one out for our family, too…

      Last night, I was re-reading Easy as Pie and my four year-old commented on the main character, Jacob, who is referred to in the book as a “happy baker”. My son looked at me and said, “Mama, you’re a happy baker, too, even though you don’t bake pies! You bake scones, Mama, and rosemary rolls, like tonight!”

      It was so sweet. I just love children… Wish I could meet yours, Phyllis, and be with them in the kitchen while they’re baking up a storm!

Leave a comment